Skip to content

Downside to DNA, Part 1

March 21, 2016

Last time, I wrote about a rather spectacular DNA success story involving me and two “new” second cousins once removed. (They’re both a couple of decades older than me but are new to the family and their identity.)

Today I was going to write a long post explaining why you won’t DNA-match most of your relations beyond about fourth cousins, but this post from DNA.Land makes the same point better than I could, so I’ll save my energy for a future blog entry on a related problem: illusory DNA matches.

Leave a Reply

